Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday involves me picking a book or book series
I’ve previously read to talk about, today I’m going to discuss
The Wolves of Mercy Falls series by Maggie Stiefvater.

The Wolves of Mercy Falls has three main books, Shiver, Linger & Forever, & one extra book called Sinner; the books follow the stories of a group of teenagers who are all affected by the group of werewolves that live in the woods next to their small town. Grace is obsessed by the wolves & refuses to hate them, even when a boy is killed. Isabel is the sister of that boy & wants the wolves dead. Sam is a boy that carries far too many secrets. Cole is a drug addicted rockstar that decides to take a unique path, as oppose to committing suicide.



The Wolves of Mercy Falls really is a trilogy made up of Shiver, Linger & Forever, with the fourth book, Sinner, acting more as an extension of the series or a sister-book! A lot of the people I speak to haven’t even read the fourth book, & some people don’t even know it exists. I used to love the main series but I’m very meh about it now, although Sinner remains one of my favourite ever reads.

As I’ve said before, Maggie Stiefvater’s work has a very strong hold over me because I first discovered her books whilst recovering after my kidney broke – her writing helped me to cope with being back in the real world after spending so much time in hospital & for that I will always be grateful. Usually I would write about each book in the series, saying what happened in them & why I enjoyed them so much; but unfortunately, I don’t remember everything that happened in the main series, or how the story was split over the main three books. I do remember the general plot & plot twists, but one of the only reasons that is the case is because I have read/listened to Sinner multiple times – Sinner means a lot to me because it was the first time I saw my mental health represented well within a book, & Isabel & Cole mean the world to me… I have previously written about Sinner on here, as it is one of my most treasured reads, & you can find that post here.

Despite my love for Sinner, the three original Wolves of Mercy Falls books aren’t among my favourite books… at least, not anymore. When I first read the series I absolutely loved it, but since then I have read a lot of other books & because of that, this series has just melted into the deep depths of my memory. When I think back, I remember this series being more for teens than Young Adults, so when I first started reading it was a good place for me to start, but after reading for so long now I’ve grown out of most teen books & I just don’t think this series would satisfy me if I read it for the first time now. If I’m really honest, I don’t really feel much for this series anymore, & the only reason I won’t ever get rid of the books is because of my love for Sinner (you need to read the first three books to understand the fourth) – & possibly because my future-children may one day want to read them.

Recently I have found myself questioning my love of Maggie Stiefvater & her work, & I guess my meh-ness surrounding this series is probably a result of that. How do you feel about Maggie & her books? I like to discuss her & the issues surrounding her with other readers so let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “

  1. Pingback: The Sunshine Blogger Award – Writing Wolves

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s